NCSSFL-ACTFL Can-Do Statements

Progress Indicators for Language Learners

The NCSSFL-ACTFL Can-Do Statements are self-assessment checklists used by language learners to assess what they “can do” with language in the Interpersonal, Interpretive, and Presentational modes of communication. These modes of communication are defined in the National Standards for 21st Century Language Learning and organized in the checklist into the following categories:

  • Interpersonal (Person-to-Person) Communication
  • Presentational Speaking (Spoken Production)
  • Presentational Writing (Written Production)
  • Interpretive Listening
  • Interpretive Reading

Ultimately, the goal for all language learners is to develop a functional use of another language for one’s personal contexts and purposes. The Can-Do Statements serve two purposes to advance this goal: for programs, the statements provide learning targets for curriculum and unit design, serving as progress indicators; for language learners, the statements provide a way to chart their progress through incremental steps. The checklists are best used by learners and learning facilitators as part of an overall reflective learning process that includes:

  • setting goals
  • selecting strategies
  • self-assessing
  • providing evidence
  • reflecting before setting new goals

The more learners are engaged in their own learning process, the more intrinsically motivated they become. Research shows that the ability of language learners to set goals is linked to increased student motivation, language achievement, and growth in proficiency.

The NCSSFL-ACTFL Can-Do Statements are a revision of the NCSSFL 2009 LinguaFolio® Self-Assessment Checklist and may be used by learners as a stand-alone self-assessment or as part of the LinguaFolio® compendium.

World-Readiness Standards for Learning Languages

Instructional Resource(s): 

  • Student
  • Teacher

Proficiency Level(s): 

  • Novice
  • Intermediate
  • Advanced

Teaching Experience: 

  • Beginning
  • Experienced

Material Type(s): 

  • Assessment

Grade Level(s): 

  • K-2
  • 3-5
  • 6-8
  • 9-12
  • Undergraduate

TELL Domain(s): 

  • Performance Feedback

STARTALK Principle(s): 

  • Performance-Based Assessment